Current warnings for July 2008

This item appears on page 18 of the July 2008 issue.

As ITN went to press, the State Department had travel warnings on 28 destinations: Somalia, Lebanon, Nepal, Burma (Myanmar), Chad, Haiti, Burundi, Syria, Yemen, Eritrea, Algeria, Central African Republic, Kenya, Israel/West Bank/Gaza, Sudan, Timor-Leste, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Colombia, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Iraq, Iran, Saudi Arabia, Côte d’Ivoire, Nigeria, Uzbekistan, Pakistan.

For details, call the State Department at 202/647-5225 or visit

For health news, call the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention at 888/246-2675 or visit… or visit the World Health Organization website at