Current warnings for December 2008

This item appears on page 18 of the December 2008 issue.

As ITN went to press, the State Department had travel warnings on 27 destinations: Somalia, Sudan, Pakistan, Israel/West Bank/Gaza, Yemen, Iran, Georgia, Lebanon, Afghanistan, Algeria, Kenya, Colombia, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Saudi Arabia, Uzbekistan, Chad, Sri Lanka, Iraq, Eritrea, Côte d’Ivoire, Nepal, Haiti, Burundi, Syria, Central African Republic, Philippines and Nigeria.  

For details, call the State Department at 202/647-5225 or visit

For health news, call the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention at 888/246-2675 or visit… or visit the World Health Organization website at