Croatia to join Schengen Zone

This item appears on page 28 of the February 2022 issue.

On Dec. 9, the European Union (EU) agreed to allow Croatia into the passport-free Schengen Zone Agreement. Croatia has been a member of the EU since 2013, but because it was not a member of the Schengen Zone, travel between Croatia and EU or Schengen countries still required passport control. (Confusingly, while not all Schengen countries are EU countries, EU approval was still necessary for Croatia to join.) At press time, it was not known on what date Croatia would officially become a member state.

Serbia and Bosnia-Herzegovina, two of the countries that border Croatia, are not members of the Schengen Zone and so will still require passport control on border crossings.